Our Committee


Eoin Carroll - Chair

Eoin is Policy and Public Affairs Manager for Extern. He previously worked in the Jesuit Centre for Faith and Justice in the role of Deputy Director with responsibility for managing the Centre's social policy prgoramme and its communication. Eoin also has experience of working in service provision with Focus Ireland. His policy areas of interest include: housing and homelessness, criminal justice, and the role of the voluntary sector. He previously served as Secretary of the ISPA for three years.



Eithne Fitzgerald - Vice Chair

Eithne served as Head of Policy and Research at the National Disability Authority 2003 until 2016. She previously worked in the Department of Finance, the National Economic and Social Council, at Threshold, and as a lecturer in the social policy at both University College Dublin and Trinity College, Dublin. She is a former Minister of State, and introduced the Ethics in Public Office Act and the Freedom of Information Act. She was a member of the Commission on Social Welfare and chaired the Task Force on Violence Against Women. She is a board member of the National Advocacy Service for People with Disabilities.



Megan A. Curran - Secretary

Megan is Irish Research Council Postgraduate Scholar and PhD student at University College Dublin's School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice. She has legislative, policy development, and advocacy experience in the United States and Europe with expertise in child and family policy, anti-poverty strategies, public benefits, and women's equality issues. She previously served as Postgraduate Officer of the ISPA. 



Michelle Murphy - Treasurer

Michelle is Research and Policy Analyst with Social Justice Ireland. She has done several pieces of research on social policy, with particular focus on the European Union and on issues realted to income distribution, poverty and social inclusion. She has two Masters degrees, one in Social Justice & Public Policy (DCU) and one in European Studies (UCD). She is a member of the steering committee of Basic Income Ireland, and a trustee of Feasta. 



Dr. Ann Stokes - Newsletter Officer

Ann is a Postdoctoral Researcher with the ENRICH research programme at the Department of Psychology, Maynooth University. She was awarded her PhD by Trinity College in 2015 for her thesis exploring the experiences of men who provide care in the context of dementia. She also holds a BA in Social Science and an MA in Social Policy from University College Dublin. She has a vast range of research experience, including with the Care Alliance Ireland, the School of Nursing and Midwifery (TCD), the Institutes of Technology of Ireland, the Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice, and University College Dublin.



Eamon Murphy - Website Officer

Eamon is Economic and Social Analyst at Social Justice Ireland, and he lectures in Political Economy at Maynooth University. He holds a BA in Economics and Politics from UCD, and an MA in Social Justice & Public Policy from DCU. His research interests include labour market economics, welfare reform, international trade, pension reform, and taxation. He is a committee member of the Pension Policy Research Group, and a former Secretary of the Comhlamh Trade Justice Group. He has been Website Officer for the ISPA since 2013. 



Dr. Vivienne Byers

Vivienne lectures in health policy and planning in the College of Business at Dublin Institute of Technology. She also lectures as adjunct faculty in University College Dublin in healthcare management. Her research is in health, as well as sustainability policy. She is currently undertaking a number of funded research projects in healthcare policy, sustainability, consumption & health, as well as ICT implementation in collaboration with Ulster University, TCD and Eastern Michigan University. She publishes and presents extensively, including internationally, in the area of policy and management.



Dr. Micheál Collins

Micheál is Assistant Professor of Social Policy at University College Dublin, prior to which he was a Senior Economist at the Nevin Economic Reserach Institute. He was a member of Ireland’s Commission on Taxation (2008-2009) and the Government’s Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare (2011-2014). Currently a member of the National Competitiveness Council, the TCD Pensions Policy Research Group and the Living Wage Technical Group, he is also a fellow of the Regional Studies Association (FeRSA). He has served on the ISPA committee in a number of roles since 2004, including as Chair from 2013 to 2016.


Dr. Geoffrey Cook

Geoffrey is an occasional lecturer in Social Policy at Maynooth University. He previously taught at University College Dublin for several decades, and is a long-serving ISPA committee member.



lorna roe

Dr. Lorna Roe

Lorna is a Postdoctoral Fellow with the Centre for Health Policy and Management, Trinity College Dublin. Lorna's research interests include health policy, health economics and social gerentology. She was previously ISPA secretary for three years, and has also served as Vice-chair.



Other ISPA committee members are Sarah Craig, Dr. Catherine-Anne Field, Odran Reid and Justyna Szewczyk.


Print Email